What Ohio Law Says About Protecting Yourself from an Attacking Dog

July 9, 2012

Dog Bites

Ohio dog lawsUnder certain circumstances, a dog may be lawfully killed in Ohio in order to protect a person or animal.  Under Ohio law, a dog may be killed if it does any of the following:

(1) Chases a person.

(2) Approaches a person in a menacing fashion.

(3) Bites or attempts to bite a person.

(4) Injures or kills a person.

A dog may also be killed if it chases, threatens, harasses, injures, or kills livestock, poultry, or other animal that is the property of a person.  This rule, however, does not apply if the dog does any of the above to a cat or another dog.  In such circumstances, the dog may not be lawfully killed.

Ohio law further provides that if a person attempts to kill a dog under lawful circumstances and only wounds the dog, the person will not be liable to prosecution.

Notwithstanding the above rules, law enforcement officers may kill any dog that attacks a police dog.

If you have questions about dog bites or dog attacks, please contact the Ohio law firm of Slater & Zurz LLP by calling 1-800-297-9191 or send a Blog Message to schedule a time to talk.

To learn more about Ohio dog laws and dog bites, please visit dogbitesohio.com.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About slaterzurz

Slater & Zurz LLP is an Ohio law firm of highly experienced and respected attorneys. Over the last 40 years, we have developed a reputation for getting positive results for clients. We've been trusted with handling over 20,000 personal injury cases and our clients have received more than $120,000,000.

View all posts by slaterzurz

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

16 Comments on “What Ohio Law Says About Protecting Yourself from an Attacking Dog”

  1. Chun Lukow Says:

    Nice post. I learn something more difficult on completely different blogs everyday. It’s going to at all times be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their store. I’d desire to use some with the content on my weblog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a link in your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  2. Harrison Sigers Says:

    Your content is valid and informative in my personal opinion. You have truly done a great deal of research on this topic. Thanks for sharing it.

    Reply

  3. Zachariah Nedley Says:

    Valuable information. Lucky me I found your site by accident, and I am shocked why this accident did not happened earlier! I bookmarked it.

    Reply

  4. Harris Heffelbower Says:

    Whoah this weblog is wonderful i like studying your posts. Stay up the good paintings! You know, lots of people are looking around for this information, you can aid them greatly.

    Reply

  5. Stacey Nevers Says:

    It’s not that I want to copy your website, but I really like the design and style. Could you tell me which design are you using? Or was it tailor made?

    Reply

  6. Tristan Rupley Says:

    My brother recommended I would possibly like this website. He was once entirely right. This post truly made my day. You can not imagine simply how a lot time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

    Reply

  7. Mao Orduno Says:

    It’s truly a great and useful piece of info. I am glad that you just shared this useful information with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  8. Sally Hamzik Says:

    Hey there, dear sir, nice site!

    Reply

  9. Phoebe Ficker Says:

    Good day, friend, great site!

    Reply

  10. Bree Kemph Says:

    You must join in a tournament first of the greatest blogs on the internet. I will recommend this web website!

    Reply

  11. pompy ciepła warszawa Says:

    Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to assert that I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

    Reply

  12. pompa ciepła Says:

    Hey! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I genuinely enjoy reading through your blog posts. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same subjects? Many thanks!

    Reply

  13. wyszukiwarka mp3 Says:

    Very well written post. It will be valuable to anybody who usess it, including myself. Keep doing what you are doing – can’r wait to read more posts.

    Reply

  14. Tyler Victoria  Says:

    Great line up. We will be linking to this great article on our site. Keep up the good writing.

    Reply

  15. Lang Tofflemire Says:

    you have got an awesome blog here! would you like to make some invite posts on my blog?

    Reply

  16. Manual Serbus Says:

    I really wanted to send a small message so as to express gratitude to you for the awesome ideas you are sharing at this site. My particularly long internet research has finally been rewarded with pleasant facts to exchange with my family members. I would tell you that we readers actually are undeniably lucky to exist in a perfect network with many lovely people with useful tactics. I feel pretty blessed to have discovered your entire web pages and look forward to really more fun times reading here. Thanks again for a lot of things.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

