How a Car Accident Can Change Your Life and Why a Good Attorney Will Help Prepare You for the Future

May 22, 2012

Auto Accidents

Ohio car accident lawyerThere are many incidents in life that can be described as life-changing: childbirth, graduation, marriage. But one of the most life-changing events that can happen to anyone is a car accident. Being in a car accident can be a terrifying experience. Whether you are in a simple fender-bender or a horrific accident, the experience happens without notice and your entire world is turned upside down, to say the least.

A traffic accident can be relatively simple or extremely complex and usually, many things in your life, or the lives of family, loved ones and friends will change in the blink of an eye. Obviously, the first thing that comes to mind is physical damage – broken bones, bruises, trauma and of course the damage to your automobile. Will you go to the hospital or will it just be a doctor’s visit; will you have weeks or months of physical therapy or possibly not ever fully recover? Are there other passengers – what about them? If you have pets in the car with you, who takes care of them if they are injured?

These are all things that may never cross your mind in the days, or even moments, before a traffic accident, but once a car accident occurs, your life will never be the same.

What is the cost of peace of mind for the victim of the accident and all of those that surround him or her? Who will pay for all of these things, if and when they happen? Knowing what to do, when to do it and where you can turn is a very important part of the plan to recovering from a car accident, emotionally, physically and often, financially.

If someone in your family has been in a traffic accident, you will want to contact a lawyer as soon as possible. Most, if not all of us, are never prepared to handle something like this when it happens. You might go to the phone book or ask another family member or friend if they have any suggestions and sometimes they can help you. There are many things a good attorney can do to help you and your family when you have been in a traffic accident. A good lawyer will of course champion your cause and stand next to you for as long as it takes to work out any kind of settlement, including medical bills, or any other bills that have you have incurred due to the accident.

Here is my real-life case scenario where a good law firm helped me and my husband immediately after my car accident and continued to handle ongoing problems that arose for us during the subsequent months:

A young man, with no driver’s license, no insurance and driving an automobile which did not belong to him, had been drinking for a number of hours. At some point during that time, he chose to drive and proceeded to cross a double yellow line and hit me while I was driving. My car was demolished and I had to be cut out of the car by the local fire department. The air bag deployed and that, along with the seat belt, left me with internal bleeding which meant that I had intestinal surgery as soon as I reached the hospital. I had incurred other injuries as well: broken bones in my hand which were also surgically repaired a few days later, broken bones in my spine which I was told “nothing could be done about” and broken toes. These injuries, not to mention the trauma which left most of my body black and blue, led to an eight day hospital stay and many months of physical, mental and emotional recovery.

My husband contacted my insurance company while I was in surgery and the insurance company assured him that he did not need to contact a lawyer. Of course this sounded very unusual to him and he immediately went to the phone book and “blindly” selected a law firm. Fortunately, for both of us, the law firm that my husband selected was Slater & Zurz LLP in Akron, Ohio.

While I spent eight days in the hospital, my husband dealt with Attorney Jim Slater, passing on all the information that he had to him. My husband immediately felt re-assured that he was in good hands and he was able to focus his attention on me and my needs.

When I came home from the hospital, family members and friends came to help me out so my husband could return to work. I was physically and emotionally drained and had more than one “break-down”. My recovery took many months and during the first few weeks, Attorney Slater came to our house just to meet me and see how I was doing! At one point in time, he even brought us brownies. Needless to say, we were overcome with emotion and so thankful we had made the choice to retain the law firm of Slater & Zurz.

After many months, the young man who hit me was eventually sentenced to four years in prison, but the settlement struggles with insurance companies just seemed to be starting. Slater & Zurz handled everything as quickly as possible and eventually a settlement was reached that rewarded me with a variety of things including pain and suffering.

My husband and I made the correct choice when we were blind-sided one day and our lives radically changed. Fortunately, we found the right attorney to help us so we could move forward with our lives with a degree of certainty.

– Sandy Bee Lynn

If you have been involved in a car accident anywhere in Ohio, contact the law firm of Slater & Zurz LLP for a free consultation by calling 1-800-297-9191 or send a Blog Message to schedule a time to talk with an experienced Ohio car accident attorney.  Get the help you need.

To learn more, visit www.slaterzurz.com.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About slaterzurz

Slater & Zurz LLP is an Ohio law firm of highly experienced and respected attorneys. Over the last 40 years, we have developed a reputation for getting positive results for clients. We've been trusted with handling over 20,000 personal injury cases and our clients have received more than $120,000,000.

View all posts by slaterzurz

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

